1. No Profile Picture
    Contributing User
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

RSA vs DSA Keys?

I know it's been revealed that the NSA and RSA were in cahoots, and I'm setting up public/private key pairs for my server. So I'm curious if an RSA key is better than the DSA alternative.

It seems DSA can only be 1024 bits while RSA can be up to 4096. I'm new to key pairs and stuff so please forgive my ignorance.

What I'm really asking... Which should be considered more secure now: DSA-1024 or RSA-4096?
  3. --
    Devshed Expert (3500 - 3999 posts)

Hi,

according to the NIST, RSA and DSA are equally strong. So DSA with 1024 bits would be much weaker than RSA with 4096 bits. Is there any reason why you chose this particular key size?

The general recommendation is to use a minimum of 2048 bits (for either algorithm). 3072 gives you a security level comparable with AES-128. And anything beyond that is probably overkill.

As to RSA vs. DSA: Since RSA is much more common, I see no reason for not going with it. DSA is also more sensitive in that screwing up the parameters will reveal the private key.

So my recommendation (as a non-cryptographer) would be RSA with 3072 or 4096 bits.
    The 6 worst sins of security ē How to (properly) access a MySQL database with PHP

Why canít I use certain words like "drop" as part of my Security Question answers?
    There are certain words used by hackers to try to gain access to systems and manipulate data; therefore, the following words are restricted: "select," "delete," "update," "insert," "drop" and "null".
  5. No Profile Picture
    Contributing User
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Possibly, the original poster was confused by the initials "RSA" standing for both a US private company (RSA Security LLC) and the famous public-key algorithm for encryption and digital signatures.