1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Searchable encryption

Hi,
    we have a management application in our office and I was asked to implement client side encryption with the ability to search data. I am not a cryptography expert, so I am asking for help.
    The basic idea is to use symmetric encryption, and before the text (usually small, around 1K bytes on average) is sent to the server I will separate it into words (english words, separated by space), and each word will be padded with 0s to 16 bytes. Longer than 16byte words will be split into 16byte blocks and the last one will be padded. Then each word will be encrypted individually with AES 128bit and sent to the server. The server will have a dictionary of encrypted words and will associate the words with the record that has been inserted into the database, i.e. it will build a keyword index. (like MySQL Fulltext search option, or Sphinx)
    When the user wants to search the texts for a particular keyword he/she will enter the keyword, the client will encrypt it the same way and send the server to query.
    My question is (since I am not an expert on the subject) , is this method somehow bad ? Is there some way to break this encryption? I have been looking in Google and I found a lot of documents with a lot of mathematical formulas , some of them propose creating the index on the client, but I don't understand why don't they implement this method I am describing? It looks so simple.
    The obvious disadvantage of the method is that storage for the keyword index can increase in size a lot, but I guess this is the price to pay for security + searcheable data. I don't see any problem with it provided that the disk cost is getting lower and lower every day. Another disadvantage is that you won't be able to use wildcards, you will have to search by exact keyword, but well, at least you can search.

Do you guys have any comments or ideas?
    Will be very appreciated.
    Regards