1. No Profile Picture
    Easy Prowler
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

secure connection to MySQL

I need some explanation: should I encrypt data, if:

1) MySQL server is on the same machine as HTTP server (IP: localhost);
    2) I transfer data to/from MySQL server located on other machine?

If yes, what must I do?
    (I`ll be thankful for any example)

For examle: my script has received some confidential information (thru SSL sesssion) and is to put it to database (this information doesn`t have to be stored in encrypted form).

One more thing: what about logging to DB (username and password)? Does anybody can see them, if connection isn`t encrypted?

What else should I know to have this connection really safe?
  3. Modding: Oracle MsSQL Firebird
    Devshed Supreme Being (6500+ posts)

Ok, allright, I'm not an expert but common sense suggests me to say:
    First of all you should do a search through those forums: php, mysql and security, just to read something and clear (or mess up more) your ideas.
    Then you should do a security assessment on your business.
    I mean, ask yourself what kind of data you are collecting, what does the law say about what you are doing, how the owners of data could be hurt in case of ... and how their lawyers can strike back at you and so on ....
    Then do another assessment on your system, i.e. can the box be stolen (phisically) can the operating system be hacked, security holes in applications ...
  5. No Profile Picture
    Easy Prowler

Of course you`re right. But security & system assessment (the way You have described it) is the deep background of my question.

I`ve also searched DevShed Forums. Maybe I`m inattentive or impatient, but I`ve hardly find nothing interesting.

I suppose my issue is a part of a wider field: server-to-server connection and is a good occasion to present some important notes concerning this topic.
  7. Modding: Oracle MsSQL Firebird
    Devshed Supreme Being (6500+ posts)