1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

how can I restrict write access of a text file to be for a php program only

Hi, I have a form that takes user input and delivers it to a php program that writes that input to a text file that is located in the same directory as the php file on the server. The php program was denied write access to the text file untill I turned the properites of the text file on the server to accept write access from everyone. But now anyone can write a small program and write what ever they want to the file or delete its contents. Is there a way to set things up so that the php file can write to the text file without turning the write access for it to on for everyone. I am new to all this and expect that there is a simple way to do that.

Thanks
    Sam
  3. No Profile Picture
    Contributing User

You could take the text file out of a web readable directory

Like if its loccated in: /username/wwwroot /
    change it to be in: /username/

That way people cant acess it from the browser but the server still can use it to process your pages

All the best
  5. No Profile Picture
    Contributing User
    Devshed God 1st Plane (5500 - 5999 posts)

If you are in a shared hosting environment, there is nothing you can do about it.
    Your ISP though could (and should!) setup chroot() or if he doesn´t allow any serverside programming but PHP (and no shell access either), he could activate the "safe mode".
  7. No Profile Picture
    The Wizard

try PHP-cgiwrap... it's just like cgiwrap for perl...

just remember to put a different extension for the file that writes to the text file.. (phtml or something) otherwise all your php files will run under your username...

hope this helps
    Stand out for justice as witnesses to God
  9. No Profile Picture