1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

What is the best security strategy for an application with locally encrypted data?

Hi everybody,

I'm an experienced developer, but I'm new the forums and rather new to the topic of security. I'm developing a local desktop application (C# WPF) that acts like an encrypted journal. I'm imagining when the application first loads up, it asks the user for a password to decrypt all its data. I'd like this application to be secure enough that even if someone got physical access to the hard drive, it would be very challenging to decrypt the data without the password.

I was thinking of using the RijndaelManaged class in C# (Please google it for details - I can't post links)

The user would enter a password, and I would pass it along without ever storing it and attempt to decrypt their data using it. If it works it works, if it doesn't, it doesn't.

First question: How secure is this as an overall approach? Is there a better one I'm missing?

Second question: Where does "salt" come in? Do I need it if I'm not storing passwords?

Thanks!
    -Jesse
  3. --
    Devshed Expert (3500 - 3999 posts)

Hi,

the question is: Why are you doing this?

If this is supposed to be an actual application for real users, I strongly recommend that you don't do it. Cryptography is one of the most difficult areas of all. It sounds really easy at first, and everybody thinks they could do it with a bunch of Wikipedia articles and premade tools. But this is a delusion. In reality, you have no chance of winning unless you have lots and lots of professional experience and a community of experts behind you.

You wouldn't believe how many details and pitfalls you have to take care of. Most of it wouldn't even occur to ordinary mortals like us. So instead of creating yet another failed crypto application, I strongly recommend you use a proven solution like TrueCrypt.