1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Red face "Easy" web development?

I hope this is the right forum for this type of question, as I couldn't find one that seemed "right."

I'm still relatively new to web development and I'm having issues keeping commonality between my dev pc (at home, Win 7) and my VPS (Server 2008).

I've found I can do things to help, such as:
    - map folders to drives (U:, P:, etc.) so that scripts can ignore absolute file locations
    - use the exact same version of WAMP and FileZilla

If I make a large number of changes I may have to:
    - Upload all php code / files
    - Dump, upload, and then re-import database
    - Change FTP username/passwords
    - Change apache config
    - etc.
    ... this can quickly become a very tedious process just to match what I have on the dev side.

I'm using WAMP, so I figure that maybe I can stop services and just upload the entire root directory of WAMP (which contains all apps & code, such as MySQL and my php files) to overwrite data / users / etc. By only uploading modified files this would be rather quick, I'd think. Additionally, my VPS is not web-accessible as-of-yet so I'm not too worried about momentary outages.

I feel like the development is probably less complicated than I'm making it. All I'm trying to do is deploy a "snapshot" of all my website-related code / configuration / data to the VPS. I'm thinking there's a way to do this efficiently that I'm simply not grasping.

Really, I'm just trying to make development "easy"-ish. I make changes, I run something (maybe a bat/php script?) and the VPS is updated to my DEV state.

I hope this rambling even makes sense! Any help is greatly appreciated.
  3. No Profile Picture
    Lost in code
    Devshed Supreme Being (6500+ posts)

It's sounds like you're not using version control software, which is probably the number one thing you can do to make it easier.