1. Google Relay Server
    Devshed Intermediate (1500 - 1999 posts)

Separating business logic, DAO, entities.

I'm an experienced programmer but I'm inexperienced in database application development. I have a relatively straightforward application I'm developing (in Java, using Hibernate for data access) and I have one question about best practices concerning the separation of business logic and database access.

Two of the objects I'm working with are Groups and Items. A Group can have many Items, an Item can only be in one Group.

I have two basic layers so far:

First, I have my entity classes, which are Group and Item bean classes. These each have their respective properties. Item contains a reference to the Group it is in, Group contains a set of the Items in it. The Group's Item set is populated by Hibernate. Item contains a foreign key from the Group table. Hibernate takes care of cascading database updates/inserts/deletes so I only need to explicitly commit new Groups - new Items are managed automatically.

Second, I have my DAO's. They are run-of-the-mill DAO objects with basic methods to look up objects by ID, and add/remove objects in the database.

My question is general but I will give a specific scenario. Given a Group, I want to find all Items in that group whose name contains a certain string.

I have three ways of doing this:

1. I can add a method to my ItemDAO to retrieve a list of items given a Group and a name string. Then, in my application, I would do this (pseudo-ish code):
    Code:
    List<Item> items = itemDAO.findByGroupAndName(theGroup, theNameString);
    Advantages: Simplicity
    Disadvantages: DAO calls in application; DAO instance must be available (they aren't static/singletons, I use factories to access).

2. I can do #1, but then add a method to my Group entity class that retrieves the list of items in that group using the ItemDAO. Then, in my application, I would not make DAO calls to find the items, I would do:
    Code: