1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Tips for a One Man Dev Team?

Hello,

I'm a young programmer with minimal professional programming experience. My employers have asked me to develop a large application involving several components (I'm a one man development team). I know that I am capable of what they're asking, but I am experiencing some hardships that I don't want to continue.

I am using the following languages:
    C#, PHP/HTML/CSS/JS and BASIC

Let me just list some problems I experience and any input is helpful:

1. PHP is hard to structure in a readable way for me. Netbeans consumes a lot of resources and puts warnings in all kinds of unhelpful places. Eclipse is worse. I like the Visual Studio PHP plugin (PHP Tools), but it's expensive and I'm not sure my employers will understand investing in it.

2. My employers do not know how they want the project to be when finished. They have a broad idea which makes it slightly hard to know what direction to take things in.

3. It's too easy to start implementing "quick fixes" or hard coding values to make a finished product faster to show my employers while making it harder to work on later. I don't have any sort of standard review process or anyone to review the code besides me.

4. This is the first time my employers have ever stepped into the world of Computer Programming. My employer asked of me to spend 50-60% of my time working on this project, while maintaining my duties as a Sysadmin. On paper the numbers look like they should compute. In reality, it's very hard for me to jump back and forth between programming and updating computers/checking scan logs/fixing various broken things.

So, with these things in mind, I'm wondering if anyone else has been in the same position and what are good practices that helped them cope with it and produce quality code?
  3. Lazy Moderator
    Devshed Supreme Being (6500+ posts)

Originally Posted by Skyl3r