1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Unhappy Script to move the files whith configurable days

Hi,

I am new to unix and was planning to write a script that will will move files which have a datetime >= currentdate-N from a source to destination folder. All configuration should be done through a properties files. In the form of input in the configuration fie the parameters would be

1) Configurable N days value(right now assume it as 10 days)
    2) source folder
    3) destination folder

and the final resultant would be The old files are moved, please guide me on this...thanks in advance..!!

the thing that I have tried for this one is......

find /basedir/sourcefolder -mtime +10 | xargs -I {} mv {} /basedir/destfolder

It will get the 10 days older files and move the files from one location to another.
    you can get 10 as argument or read from the file..but still it is not that the above configuration file that I want ...could you please guide me on this ..!!
  3. No Profile Picture
    Contributing User
    Devshed Regular (2000 - 2499 posts)

As it stands that will move files as well as directories - is that want you want? If it is jusrt files add a -type f to the find parameters. As for the variable number of days ... replace the literal 10 with that of a variable that holds the value read from your configuration file (or a suitable default if no value found).
    The moon on the one hand, the dawn on the other:
    The moon is my sister, the dawn is my brother.
    The moon on my left and the dawn on my right.
    My brother, good morning: my sister, good night.
    -- Hilaire Belloc
  5. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

show the complete structure

Originally Posted by SimonJM