1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Unix Network Programming Edition 1 or Edition 2

Hi !!
    I am a newbie interested in network programming and socket programming. I am not a computer science student but had done a course in Linux, C,C++ and am now interested in socket programming. I was told that Richard Steven's UNIX Network Programming is the best book. I also found out that there are 2 Editions of the book. The first Edition is a single book with a green cover (just trying to be more specific ) and the second edition is 2 books. Now I dont know which one to start with as I am a complete beginner. When I was about to purchase the first edition a friend of mine suggested that I might choose the second edition as the first ed would be obsolete. I got mixed answers from other friends as well. Is it that the first edition is an obsolete book (I am merely saying what I heard from some of my friends ). But if so, why was it reprinted ? I am a complete novice to networkprogramming and socket programming. Please guide me as to which book should I go for ? The 1st edition or the 2nd Edition ? I would be extremely thankful if anyone could help me choose the right one.

Thanks and regards
  3. No Profile Picture
    Contributing User
    Devshed Novice (500 - 999 posts)

I personally learned from the first edition green one a few years go. The material in it is not obsolete at all, that is the great thing about UNIX, the fundamentals don't change.

I have never actually seen or read the second edition one. That being said, I am sure the second edition is a revamp of the first one, also it sounds like there is a lot more material coverred if it is two books now.