Thread: Crontab

1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Question Crontab

Hello. Bare with me, I am still learning UNIX. So, you may laugh at the simplicity of my questions.

I'd like to know a few things that I have not been able to find online. I may have just not found the right spot yet. But, a lot of my searching ends up in forums. So, I thought I might as well just start a thread.

I have been fooling around with crontab. It seems very simple according to the man pages; however, one of my entries will not work. I know I have the 5 entries for the duration the command is executed set correctly...and I know I haven't fat-fingered anything else. I see in the log file (/var/adm/cron/log) that an attempt is made to execute the command. I was told some of the characters on the line in the log could point to an answer. But, I am unable to decrpyt anything.

I have the entry set to run a script I built, which runs when I manually type it. Also, I have another entry in the crontab file - that works - to run another script I built. Each script is set to run at a different time, so I don't think there would be any conflicts. I am not sure why cron will not complete it.

Any advice is appreciated!

...now you can laugh
  3. Banned ;)
    Devshed Supreme Being (6500+ posts)

Woodland Hills, Los Angeles County, California, USA
    It's hard to pinpoint the problem without seeing the log. However, one of the things to bear in mind is that the cron jobs run under a different environment than your regular login. In particular, cron doesn't have the same PATH variable as your login, hence you should specify all pathnames as absolute path names, to be safe. This is the #1 cause of errors in cronjobs.

For example, if you wanted to print a list of files, you could simply type "ls" and get a list. This is because your PATH variable has "/bin" in it and so the shell can find it. With a cron job, you may need to type "/bin/ls" so that it can find the program.