1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Exclamation Making a counter in VS Express 2013

I am new to programming. I need some help. I have a rotary encoder with a value of 2000(dblValue= encoders value shown below) per 1 revolution. Which for me = 3 Ft I need it to be at every 1 Ft witch would be a value of 666. I need the counter to increase by 1 when the encoders value(dblValue) reaches multiples or increments of 666 . What would this code look like? Any help would be very much appreciated!!

'Read the value of Timer0.
    LJUD.eGet(u3.ljhandle, LJUD.IO.GET_TIMER, 0, dblValue,
    dummyDoubleArray)

At this point, dblValue now has the value from Timer0 which is your
    quadrature count.
  3. No Profile Picture
    Contributing User

so the rotary device return 0 to 2000 and nothing more?

the values of 666 = 1ft
    1332=2ft
    1998=3ft

you can use modular arithmatic to return these values

use div 666 and you should see 1 when 666 upto 1332, 2 when 1332 upto 1998 and 3 when 1998+

does that help?

the div operator is DIV and also \ in different languages check your help documentation.

here to help

remember to close threads and rate those who help you.
  5. No Profile Picture

Thank you so much for your response. It is greatly appreciated!

> so the rotary device return 0 to 2000 and nothing more?

The encoder will continue to rotate at 2000 resolution per revolution until it reaches a predetermined limit.
    The encoder count could be as high a 2 million.

> the values of 666 = 1ft
    >1332=2ft
    >1998=3ft

This is absolutely correct!

>you can use modular arithmatic to return these values

> use div 666 and you should see 1 when 666 upto 1332, >2 when 1332 upto 1998 and 3 when 1998+

>does that help?