1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Is it possible to exclude characters?

Hi,

Im working at a project atm where I need two different meanings from a clist.checked.items

For the listbox I need it to say "a001 terrengsykkel', and that works well enough.

Due to updating the database (phpsql) I need it to be only "a001" is it possible to exclude characters from 5 to 18?

Im new at this so I don't know, but something like this:
    clist.checked.items(exclude char 5-18)?
  3. Type Cast Exception
    Devshed Supreme Being (6500+ posts)

In this case just use Left() which works like a SubStr(1,n) - you can also use Mid() which is more like SubStr, either works.

strListEntry = Left(MyValue, 4)

or

strListEntry = Mid(MyValue, 1, 4)
    medialint.com

“Today you are You, that is truer than true. There is no one alive who is Youer than You.” - Dr. Seuss
  5. No Profile Picture

Originally Posted by medialint
    In this case just use Left() which works like a SubStr(1,n) - you can also use Mid() which is more like SubStr, either works.

strListEntry = Left(MyValue, 4)

or

strListEntry = Mid(MyValue, 1, 4)
    Not really sure how to use it?

Im getting the info from a checklistbox called clistterreng, would it be something like strClistterrengEntry = Left(MyValue, 4) ?
  7. No Profile Picture

use left function

Originally Posted by oyb1n
    Hi,

Im working at a project atm where I need two different meanings from a clist.checked.items

For the listbox I need it to say "a001 terrengsykkel', and that works well enough.

Due to updating the database (phpsql) I need it to be only "a001" is it possible to exclude characters from 5 to 18?

Im new at this so I don't know, but something like this:
    clist.checked.items(exclude char 5-18)?
    like the others i think the obvious answer is the left function

it is from a family of functions called the string manipulation functions