1. No Profile Picture
    Contributing User
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

List of SQL Servers & Databases

Hi, I am using Visual Studio 2012 Ultimate and I am trying to display a combo box of SQL Servers and then depending on what server is selected, a list of databases on that server.
    I am new to VB and would like some suggestions on ideas.
    I have searched the internet but can only find connection strings.
    I want the user to be able to select their Server and Database.
    Thanks
  3. Transforming Moderator
    Devshed Supreme Being (6500+ posts)

You can't just get a list of servers out of nothing. There has to be a list somewhere (in your program or not) or something you know ahead of time that will let you find them.

Once you have those servers you then have to know login credentials so that you can connect to it and get a list of databases. Assuming they're not all open to anonymous access. Again, you can't get that from nothing: has to be a list somewhere, or maybe a predefined username/password that you know always works, or something else.
  5. No Profile Picture
    Contributing User

Thanks requinix,
    Forgive my ignorance but is it not possible to search the local network and find SQL Servers?
  7. Transforming Moderator

Technically yes, but it's not something that should be done. Like trying to find your car in a huge parking lot by checking every single parking spot.
  9. No Profile Picture
    Contributing User

Thanks for that, I can understand why that would be a problem.
    So if I want the user to type in the server name and then display a list of databases from that server would that be a suitable way to do it?

I basically want an OPTIONS section of my app where the user can choose the server and database to connect to.
  11. Transforming Moderator