1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Question Just a little help plz c:

Alright so, i'm new to Visual Basic and i'm trying to make just a simple program that tells you if the number entered in the text box is positive or negative when you click the button. I'm not sure if the code i put on the button is wrong or if nothing I did was right xD Here's the code for the button.

Sub checkposneg()
    If text1 <= 0 Then Print "Positive"
    If text1 >= 0 Then Print "Negative"
    End Sub

and i'm pretty sure that almost none of it is right xD
  3. No Profile Picture
    Contributing User

What visual basic are you using VB6, VB.NET, VB Script?

I havnt ever written any command line VB only windows with a gui. I am assuming your writing console application with your use of "print" . Yet you also say you are using a textbox which would mean GUI?

Either way with VB.net
    Code:
    Private Sub Button1_Click(ByVal sender As System.Object, ByVal e As System.EventArgs) Handles Button1.Click
    if (convert.todecimal(textbox1.text)>=0) THEN
    label1.text="positive"
    ELSE
    label1.text="negative"
    END IF
    End Sub
    Originally Posted by dabadguy4273
    Alright so, i'm new to Visual Basic and i'm trying to make just a simple program that tells you if the number entered in the text box is positive or negative when you click the button. I'm not sure if the code i put on the button is wrong or if nothing I did was right xD Here's the code for the button.

Sub checkposneg()
    End Sub

5. No Profile Picture
    Contributing User

Originally Posted by dabadguy4273

Sub checkposneg()
    End Sub