1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Reading from 1 Txt File, Searching another, and writing to a 3rd.

I have the responsibility create a script to read a list file. At each line, of the 1st file, I need to search a 2nd file for a "no match" to each line in the first file (both files are list files). For each no match found, I need to write the line from the 1st file to a 3rd txt file. Below is what I have so far, and as you can see I am having some difficulty.

I may even be on the right track, but I am fairly new to VBS. I have only had one class, and that was last year. Any help would be appreciated.

Const FOR_READING = 1
    Const FOR_APPENDING = 8

Dim objFSO : Set objFSO = CreateObject("Scripting.FileSystemObject")

Dim objNameList : Set objNameList = objFSO.OpenTextFile("C:\DATA\OLD-LIST.txt", FOR_READING, False)
    Dim objSearchFile : Set objSearchFile = objFSO.OpenTextFile("C:\DATA\NEW-LIST.txt", FOR_READING, False)
    Dim objResultsFile : Set objResultsFile = objFSO.OpenTextFile("C:\DATA\DELETE-LIST.txt", FOR_APPENDING, True)

Dim objRegEx : Set objRegEx = CreateObject("VBScript.RegExp")
    objRegEx.Global = True
    objRegEx.IgnoreCase = True

Dim strSearchFile : strSearchFile = objSearchFile.ReadAll
    objSearchFile.Close
    Do Until objNameList.AtEndOfStream
    Dim strLine : strLine = objNameList.Readline
    objRegEx.Pattern = strLine
    Dim colMatches : Set colMatches = objRegEx.Execute(strSearchFile)
    objResultsFile.WriteLine strLine
    Loop
    objNameList.Close
    objResultsFile.Close
  3. No Profile Picture
    Grumpier old Moderator
    Devshed Supreme Being (6500+ posts)

What's your question? does your code give you errors?

There are examples of reading text files with vbscript and the filesystem object in the fso documentation in the msdn library, I'd start with reviewing some samples. Also sites like www.w3schools.com have sample codes.
    ======
    Doug G
    ======