1. Contributing User
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Using ADODB to connect to remote MySQL DB

This is my first time doing this so I am unfamiliar. I have added reference Microsoft ActiveX Data Objects 6.1 and even tried using the previous library verisions
    Code:
        Private Sub homeFRM_Load(sender As Object, e As EventArgs) Handles MyBase.Load
            Dim DBconnect As New ADODB.Connection
            Dim DBcommand As New ADODB.Command
            Dim DBrecordset As New ADODB.Recordset
            DBconnect.Open("DRIVER={MySQL ODBC 3.51 Driver};SERVER=ipaddress;DATABASE=dbname;UID=dbuser;PASSWORD=dbpassword")
            DBcommand.CommandText = "SELECT id FROM tbltickets WHERE status = Open"
            DBrecordset.Open(DBcommand.CommandText, DBconnect)
            DBrecordset.Close()
            DBconnect.Close()
        End Sub
    If I put a message box above DBconnect.Open it pops up just fine. If I put it below it never pops up, but the form does and during debug now output errors show. I would like to check the status of the connection but it appears the connection is not working. Is my syntax correct? How do I reference a port number? IP:PORT as the server?
  3. No Profile Picture
    Contributing User

When using ODBC, it is not necessary to define the database or the driver, as that is already defined in the DSN.

DBconnect.Open("DSN=dsnName;UID=dbuser;PASSWORD=dbpassword")

J.A. Coutts
  5. No Profile Picture
    Grumpier old Moderator
    Devshed Supreme Being (6500+ posts)

couttsj, the op is using a "dsn-less" connection string.

To make mysql work with ADO, you need to have the mysql drivers installed on the computer that's executing the script. Review the connection string and verify you're using the correct identifier for your version of the mysql odbc dricers.

The mysql port must be open to the computer that has the mysql db on it, so check all firewalls / routers / port forwards / etc between the two machines.