1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Unhappy Fireworks vs/ Dreamweaver

Hi,

I am a university student and I am doing an assignment about a web page construction. I am using Dreamweaver for the Web page, and Fireworks for the navigation buttons and pop up menu. I am using a two-frame set in Dreamweaver (left frame as the Navigation bar, and right frame as the main page). At first the navigation bar worked perfectly under this situation. But later after I inserted the pop up menu to some of the buttons, those modified buttons did not work (I could click on the pop up menu, but nothing happened). But it is very funny that if I just open the navigation bar page, these pop up menu works.

Here is the URL in case you need to look at the source code:
    http://webraft.its.unimelb.edu.au/48...b/homepage.htm

The site is still under construction, but you can at least try the first pop up menu for the pages called Intro1.htm and Intro2.htm

Hope there is enough information for you.

wkccheung
  3. learning to fly

I can see several things that you should work on first:

1. Your code needs to be heavily commented, e.g. 'What we are doing here and why we are doing it?'

2. Most of us use descriptive names (at least as much as possible) for images, buttons, etc., such as 'frames_page1_over.gif' rather than the cryptic "Navigation_r7_c1_f3.gif" type filenames you are using. Makes it much easier to see at a glance what's going on.

3. Get rid of the spaces in filenames and directories. You can spot these by the '%20' items in the source code of the page. Some servers don't mind spaces; most do, and do funny things when they run across them. The major source of troubles like this is space names in directories - don't use them - use an underscore ( _ ) instead.

4. Your popups popup right over the existing menu items. Part of the problem is the focus of the mousepointer. This is going to be a problem with the width of your nav frame.