1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

What language best for new web app project?

Hey all,

A decade ago I was a Phd student programming in C++. Then my life took a different turn but now I'm back to programming (as a means to other goals though). But as my skills are dusty, I come here seeking for professional advice.

What I want is to program a web application able to handle at least 3 different languages. Key is that on one client side data needs to be entried and on another client side this data needs to be represented in charts and tables alike, based on the wishes of this side's user. This means the application needs to be modular and adaptable to the needs of both clients. A third aspect is that the data needs to be interpreted by the application so that it can make certain recommendations based on the collected data. Last but not least, the application must run on several platforms, mainly Windows, Mac OS and Android.

So my question is what programming language is the best candidate to acomplish this goal? And what are the best books/resources to master that language ASAP?

Thanks for reading and any recommendation made.

Regards
  3. Code Monkey V. 0.9
    Devshed Regular (2000 - 2499 posts)

Are you wanting to put together a web-based application (a website) or an OS-based application (like an iPhone app)?

If you're going web-based, most of the normal server-side languages like PHP, Python and Java will do the job so it depends on what you want to use the most, and what your chosen server platform will run.

If you're looking at an OS-based app, then you will most likely need to learn a few. I know that the Apple platform is different to Andriod, etc, etc, etc... so while a lot of the code can be re-used, there's going to be a lot of playing around with different SDK's to get the app working the same way on multiple platforms.
  5. No Profile Picture

Hey Catacaustic,