1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Question

I am a newbie and I have a genral question here:

Is it better to have many small images loading (1-2KB) or larger (cut) sections of the same image (total 130KB). I am primarily asking about loading speed, do the smaller images, even though they equal the total download size, load faster then say the same image only cut into 5 x 25KB sections???

Also I have designed a page that incorporates a scrolling marquee, can I force the images to load before the marquee (as it seems to slow the total download quite effectively)
    ????

appreciation for any help in advance
  3. No Profile Picture

Dogman,

okay, heres the poop...technically, the one large image will actually load faster than many smaller images because your computer doesn't have to talk to the server a bunch of times to get the info for a bunch of pics. however, if you do load it as a bunch of smaller pics, the user will see that something is happening (pieces loading), and are less likely to jump off your site because they think that nothing is happening...plus the download time isn't really that much more. and i would actually warn against using such large file sizes on the net so that users won't get bored waiting for your site to load...unless it's an art site and you're willing to chance it.

and i would also strongly suggest not using a scrolling marquee for the same reason...and they tend to be pretty tacky. ;) but again, if it's done tastefully and/or artsy, then go for it...just try to keep your users in mind. just my two cents...

hope this helps...

jason ;)
    --there's a madness to my method.--
    www.theartofsynapse.com
  5. No Profile Picture
    Resident Moron

A little more to add on...