Page 1 of 2 12 Last
  • Jump to page:
  1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

NOOB HTML database help right at the start

Hello all!
    I work in a lab where we have to breed mice and keep track of who fathered who and all of that good stuff. Recently, for reasons that shall go unmentioned here, our pen and paper records have proven to be insufficient and we are thinking of new methods for recording all of this husbandry. After spending a good deal of time on IMDB, i think that utilizing a web-page type approach would be the best.
    In a nutshell, what I want to do is create something so that I can record each mouse birth and then put in little links to its parents. Then, those links will show who that mouse's parents were, and so on and so forth. Ideally, I would also be able to see who else was in the littler and what the genotypes, etc were.
    I don't even know where to start on a project, but as I am basing this off IMDB, I figured that HTML would be the best place to start. Am I correct in this? How does one actually go about programming HTML (what programs, etc)? Does this sound like a good idea at all, or horrible?
    I have taken some programming courses, but I think that for this application, I can be considered a total noob, but ready to learn!
    Help me impress my boss and make a fool out of my coworkers!
    thanks!
    andy
  3. No Profile Picture
    Banned

HTML won't help here unless you plan to hand code your files? If you are looking for an application that can just enter in all the data for each rat then I would suggest using PHP and Mysql with a database. If you are just going to write it to a page then html can be used here.
  5. No Profile Picture

Originally Posted by Hawks