1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Trying to write a brief for a wordpress plugin

Hello everybody

I have never written a brief before and I need to write a brief to get quotes to get a wordpress plugin developed. I wanted to get some feeback from people who have more experiance.

So am I asking for something that cant be done, have I explained myself well enouph and have I missed anything?

1.0 OVERVIEW OF PLUGIN REQUIREMENT

I want a user to come to my site and create a custom post type in my wordpress blog. The idea is based of Role-Playing Game character sheets where a player can customise the equipment and armour that the in game character is using.

This spec is not, by any stretch of the imagination, complete. All of the wording will need to be revised several times before it is finalized. The graphics and layout of the screens is shown here merely to illustrate the underlying functionality. The actual look and feel will be developed over time in conjunction with the winning bidder.

2.0 LIST OF FUNCTIONS
    2.1 User authentication

Available to users who have logged into the blog.

2.2 Selection of equipment

The user can select equipment from several lists of equipment eg weapons, armour, shields etc. Each one of these selections will be a picture and will be a link to another website.

2.3 Publish the post

The user will be able to publish the post and have it look something like the included picture.

2.4 Scaling

Each picture and location must scale with any changes to the browser.

2.5 Backend Administration

I must be able to control and edit the pictures and links as well as what lists each piece of equipment can go into. It must also be easy for me to add new lists later.

3.0 STYLE AND LAYOUT
    3.1 Overall Style

The style of the finished and published post should be consistent with the rest of the website.

4.0 ADDITIONAL REQUIREMENTS
    4.1 Accessibility