1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Need advice on web site graphics...

I'm planning to build an e-comm web site over the next several months as a personal goal/project and, hopefully, successfull business venture. The only part of the site which may pose a problem is the actual graphics I intend to use in the pages. I'm not a graphics designer by any means, but I defintely can create great-looking pages using HTML and CSS as I have been using them for the past several years. Anyway, I have a copy of Photoshop 6, but I was wondering if I may need other software for creating some really cool-looking graphics for my site. I may even take a course in advanced computer graphics because I really want to create the graphics myself, but if I cant, then I'll need to hire a professional.

Any advice would be appreciated. Thanks,

SAF
  3. mod_dev_shed
    Devshed Supreme Being (6500+ posts)

IMO, the most important feature is layering. Photoshop has this, as does GIMP (for *nix), and the newer versions of PaintShop Pro. You should be fine with Photoshop if you can figure it out. I recommend a book to start with before you pay for a course.
  5. No Profile Picture

Originally posted by jharnois
    IMO, the most important feature is layering. Photoshop has this, as does GIMP (for *nix), and the newer versions of PaintShop Pro. You should be fine with Photoshop if you can figure it out. I recommend a book to start with before you pay for a course.
    Ok, but what about Corel Bryce, 3D Studio Max, or Maya?

Thanks again,

SAFX
  7. mod_dev_shed
    Devshed Supreme Being (6500+ posts)

I've never used any of those (I guess I should have told you I'm not a graphics pro either )
  9. Doggie
    Devshed Novice (500 - 999 posts)

Stick with Photoshop. I've tried doing certain things in Gimp, and found it impossible.

Learn about layer effects. These are effects that apply to the whole layer, even if it changes later. You can get some nice stuff with it.