1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Creating a simple webpage to search and retrieve

Okay, so this is coming from a guy who knows nothing about web dev, and just wants to learn, via this project.

I have an excel page with columns such as:

Code:
    Col Col2 Col3
    abc    1     3
    def     4      5
    hgi      9     5
    and so on.

And I have various images in a folder with file names corresponding to 'Col' i.e. abc.jpg, def.jpg, etc.

I want to create a webpage with asks for a string from a user, searches it in Col1, then displays corresponding Col2, Col3, and the image corresponding to that Col1.

NOW, I'm not asking for what to do, but I just want to know HOW will I do this? What all tools/scripts/languages/software do I need to know to implement a system like this? I'll get to learning that straight away.

I have very little experience in web development hence a very noob-ish question.

Thanks a lot guys!

PS: If possible, also tell me if this is too complex to take up as a beginner project. I'm just doing this as a hobby, I'm not planning to go very deep into web dev (I'm an app developer+graphic designer); so I wouldn't mind it being a bit tough to do.
  3. No Profile Picture

Lightbulb Have you thought about using Wordpress?

I use Wordpress and it sounds like what you may need is a domain and a web host package and install Wordpress. This is the best way of going to get you up and going.

I have used Hostgator for my web host and you can install all kinds of graphic packaging from their install script files. Then use Wordpress to link to them. You could run them on their own, but if you intend to market them then you will need away of promoting the pictures.

Not sure if this is what you are looking for?
  5. Code Monkey V. 0.9
    Devshed Regular (2000 - 2499 posts)

Originally Posted by Bounties