1. No Profile Picture
    Contributing User
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

What's the best way to learn how to develop a webpage for cellphone?

Hi there, I'm a new college graduate and currently looking for a webdesign/development job.

When I browse job advertisements, I always come across many ads that says something like "Mobile apps developer needed" or "cross-browser for Android and iPhone".

However, I don't even know what the best language to learn for the purpose is.
    Should I even learn a new language?

I have heard there are some frameworks that let me create a website for mobile browsers using only html, css, and javascript(or jQuery maybe).
    Should I take that way to go about mobile site development??
    I'm confused about how I can learn mobile site development.

I have created a couple of website so far for normal browsers on normal screens like FF or IE.
    I know HTML4.01, CSS2, a little bit about javascript and jQuery, I also know some PHP(I can create forms and carry info between pages and databases to create simple web applications.)

I will appreciate any help.

Thank you.
  3. No Profile Picture
    Contributing User

For the most part your languages will be the same across all of these platforms. however, their is a difference between mobile website developer and an app developer.

First you will want to set some meta settings in refference to your viewport specific to the device you are targeting. Other than that your other concerns will be with scripting languages, especially hover over events.
  5. No Profile Picture
    Permanently Banned

Mobile sites are all the rage right now.
    Problem is that they look bad on tablets.

You could always push the boat out and develop a site that displays different for Mobile, Tablet and Desktop.

I'm sure that'd help you land jobs at interview
  7. No Profile Picture
    Contributing User