1. No Profile Picture
    Contributing User
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

How to calculate

I've got a real newbie question, so I tried searching around quite a lot before coming here, but in the end I found that I'd prefer to complement with a question here.

I'm working on setting up a forum, something which I have no previous knowledge whatsoever about, so I'm currently reading up like crazy on everything from web host qualifications to control panels to php. If you know of any good tutorials or primer sites on the subject I'd be happy for recommendations!

But the thing I really want to ask about here is how to actually asses how large a web host account I need. If everything goes well we're expecting a huge amount of traffic; it's not unreasonable to expect a few thousand visitors per day, many of them registered members eager for discussion.
    Like I said, I'm aiming to actually learn how to work with this stuff, so I don't mind in the least getting redirected to technical literature; though a few short answers, if possible, are always welcome!
  3. Known to taste like chicken

use something like phpbb or vbulletin (or any forum in a box type package). They are mostly idiot proof.

If you are genuinely going to have thousands of hits a day, in an interactive environment, you will probably be best at looking at a dedicated server. If your site is slow, has time out issues, or is generally a pain in the butt to use, you wont have thousands of visitors a day....

there are 10 million forums out there, so you need to either have a forum that is completely different in the way of content to all of those, or is far superior to other forums in your genre.

The bottom line is that the internet is pretty cut throat, and it is very hard to walk in with a different twist on an established site.

Not trying to put you off, just giving you an idea of what these interwebs are like!