Page 1 of 2 12 Last
  • Jump to page:
  1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Is CDN worth paying?

Hi guys,

I am quite new to the field, but how can I measure effect of CDN on page load time?

Important part of my audience is from Great Britain, so how can I measure improvements of any CDN in advance? I offer premium glamour photos and HD videos, so speed is extremely important and I need to be sure it will work well.

I have experience only with CDN77 (because only they offer free trial), can you recommend any other CDN based on your experience? I need something to compare. Another problem is they usually don`t have pricing on their websites.

Eagerly waiting for feedback!
  3. Contributing User
    Devshed Novice (500 - 999 posts)

It is worth to use a CDN as it saves a lot of bandwidth and load on any resource demanding websites and servers. On top of this the Internet users get to the website or app content faster.The one you mentioned looks interesting. Who's network they use?
    HostColor.com - Web Hosting ServicesDedicated Hosting - since 2000
    Data center: near Chicago; Network (AS46873): Level 3, Cogent, Hurricane Electric, Retn.net
    24/7 Support: 1-888-222-1495; Skype: HostColor
  5. No Profile Picture

CDN77.com uses OnApp network I believe. I am really satisfied: easy to setup, powerful user interface, friendly prices. Overall best think is Video CDN with instant seeking. Don't have feedback from users yet, but this is killing feature.

I can also recommend Webpagespeed.org, where you can test improvements in speed in advance.
  7. Contributing User

Well... you see... CDN77 is on OnApp. OnApp does not have their own network and are most probably on Level3. So one is better to go directly with Level3, I guess!
    Data center: near Chicago; Network (AS46873): Level 3, Cogent, Hurricane Electric, Retn.net
  9. No Profile Picture

Originally Posted by fcolor