1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

What VPS/Dedicated hosting solution is right for me?

I've spent days searching the web for the right hosting solution for me. First let me give you some background. I'm a software engineer that can get his way around centOS fairly well. I'm not a systems or operations person though. So when it comes to the managed vs unmanaged question, I'm really not sure what would be best. I would obviously need any hardware issues to be fixed immediately, but OS/software issues can probably be handled by myself.

Next, I am looking at a max of $50/mo. I would prefer the $25 - $40 range if possible. I would be willing to go over the $50 if something seemed worth it.

Now for what is important to me (scale 1 (least) - 10 (most):
    - USA East Coast data center 10
    - Reliability/Uptime: 10
    - Customer Support: 10
    - Price: 7
    - RAID 10 (8)
    - Ability to scale up system quickly 9
    - Extras (free domain, adwords, etc...) 7

I'd be looking for about 1-2 GHz, 512MB - 1GB RAM, and at least 500 GB bandwidth (although more would be better). I will be hosting a series of sites most of which will be LAMP with memcached and symfony 1.4.

Some solutions I've looked into:
    - KnownHost VPS
    - MyHosting VPS
    - HostV VPS
    - HostGator VPS
    - GoDaddy VPS (although I've heard support/uptime is horrible)
    - LiNode VPS (highly recommended from several people but bare bones)
    - 1&1 Dedicated, Cloud or VPS (This seems to be the best now, but I'm not sure about support and uptime)

Does anyone have some suggestions for me? If there is any other info that could help you better suggest something, please let me know.
  3. No Profile Picture
    Lost in code
    Devshed Supreme Being (6500+ posts)