1. Contributing User
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Dodgestationpottery.com

I have just created a pottery e-commerce website.

http://www.dodgestationpottery.com

I have been designing websites for 10 years now, however, am new to e-ccomerce. I am hoping to get some critique on the navigation of the website.
  3. Contributing User

On the homepage, I think you should switch the three little pitctures+text and put them above the big pictures. I get the feel they belong above the fold, and they just missed it for me.

Navigation is pretty good. Though I did resort to pressing the 'back' button when I ventured to the Blog.

The categories for the Shop and Glazes are pretty easy to get through. One thing, in the footer, Show All Products, is there a way you could put a little picture with them? Everywhere else the products have a picture, except there. In your case especially, the picture serves a powerful purpose.

I think you should get a contact form instead of an email link.

Oh, and I like how you can zoom in smoothly on the product's main page

Good Site
  5. No Profile Picture

Viewed with Firefox 3.5.2 I noticed that the home page appeared to be aligned right where some of the site is centered. I think centered looks much better.

I also agree about the contact us. This should be a page in itself where you have all of your contact info, such as physical address, phone number and a web form for general inquiries. You may also find it helpful to display a phone number on the main page to help build trust "in the header not in the footer".

You may also find it very helpful if you included a printable order form. This will help with local sales as well as national sales as you will then be able to accept checks and money orders. They could also print the form out and fax it to you. If you decide to accept checks, make sure you clearly state that they will be held until they clear before any merchandise is shipped.