1. No Profile Picture
    Contributing User
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Freelance Web Designer Website

Hello all!

I'm a college freshman and self taught web designer of 6 months. I've really fallen in love with it, and I think it's what I want to do when I graduate. I've decided to start business as a freelance designer primarily for the purpose of establishing a portfolio so that when I graduate, I'll hopefully have a very brief transition period after graduation and can find a job with a decent design firm fairly quickly. I don't want to be the guy saying "what next?" for two years with that diploma in his hand :P But I'd like to make some money to pay for tuition too.

My target audience are local small businesses. This is because I believe they're more likely to hire someone of a lower caliber like myself in order to save some money. The local rate is about average: $75-$90 an hour. Therefore I charge $20 an hour.

You can disregard the blog if you wish. That's just my blog on web coding.

So here's my site:

http://www.mcculloughdesigns.com

And here's the feedback that I'm looking for

1) Is the call to action adequate?

2) Does the pricing make sense?

3) Am I targeting small business owners well?

4) Is that picture of me on the contact page kind of weird?

5) Do the design and the stock photos make it appear like I take myself too seriously?

6) On the home page, is the text wrapped around the images of the people presentable?

7) Is the "featured client" section under-designed or too plain?

8) Is the header on the services page too plain?

9) Anything else you can think of?

Thank you so much for your time!
  3. No Profile Picture

There are many things I like about this site.
    1. I love that you have your phone number and physical address in the header on the main page.
    2. I like the tableless design and over all look.
    3. I like that the code validates on strict.

What I did not like.