1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

data to and from a XML-document with SAX

Hello out there!

First I want to say that I am a beginner in XML with PHP. Lets make a long story short: Now I have a site using textfiles for storing data (text and all sorts of tags like form and a-tags). Now I was thinking about making a single XML document for storing all this data instead using meny files. I started to read about SAX in Beginning PHP4 and the examples worked just fine to me. Fine I thought, then this can be used to store text-data at least. But what if I would want to store form-tags, link-tags, bold-tags or other sorts of tags and text all together in one element? Okey you may say that a link-tag in one xml-element i valid if I defined that in the DTD... but I don't have time do make a DTD to work for all sorts of tags and Entitys that may be present in the xml-element. So therefore I come up whit the ide that I,before I put the data in the element, could convert < to &_lt; and " to &_amp; and so on(the underline is intended to be there). Now I could put what ever data I wanted to be in a xml-element whitout defining any DTD for that... And then when I wanted the data from the xml-document I just have to convert it back again. This would work I thought... but not. I could not use the entity-sign for < and & in the element... when I parsed the document to a page all data behind the ampersand-sign where cut of... and I don't know wy that is??! I know you proffessional programmers may think that I solved this in a not so good way... but can someone please help me to develop this system in the mos easy way? Can you give a description of how YOU would solve this problem.

Best regards

Andreas
  3. No Profile Picture

Maybe &_lt; needs to be &_amp;lt; ?
  5. No Profile Picture

Unhappy