1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

xml an alternative to databases??

I've been using MySQL for a few years now and give almost all my sites dynamic content with it. The MySQL server (and most database servers for that matter) is fast at retrieving/updating information. And isn't this the whole point? Reliable, fast access to your data?

Anyway as I've been reading about XML I can't help shaking the feeling that it's just an alternative to using a database server. The features of XML, formatting abstraction, etc.. are what happens naturally when using a database.

I don't see any reason why I'd want to move my data from my MySQL database into xml files stored on disk. I can see possibly writing some scripts to export the data into xml to be distributed, but the main use of the data would primarily happen via MySQL.

What am I missing here?
    Thanks in advance, Jeremiah
  3. No Profile Picture
    Contributing User

XML is a way of easily sharing your data, other than dumping it in comma-separated files.
    I wouldn't replace my database with a set of XML files, unless you are doing really basic stuff in your mySQL database.

Iwan
  5. No Profile Picture
    Moderator =(8^(|)
    Devshed Intermediate (1500 - 1999 posts)

A few other points to consider:

1) XML stores data heirarchically. If this is the structure you need, and especially if the heirarchy is complex, duplicating the relationships that the data have to one another in an RDBMS is much more complicated than using XML.

2) You don't have to convert XML to HTML to display it (sometimes). Browsers with XML support, and servers with XSL support, mean you can display the XML directly, but still have the benefit of the structured organization.