1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Unhappy Xml and xsl stylesheets

Hi,

I don't really know if this is the correct forum for this. If it isn't, I apologise.

I'm trying to import some elements from an XML file into Adobe InDesign. I want to import the data, adding a decimal format and a "" character, followed by a space. e.g. If the data is 23456.56 I want it to import " 23,456.56"

I can get the data in ok from the xml file but although the stylesheet is being read (I know this as it fails if I add some blatant errors) it won't do any formatting. I'm new to xml/xsl and the syntax is weird!

Anyone know what I'm doing wrong here? I'm sure it's obvious!

I've included the xml, dtd and xsl stylesheet file contents below. The xml currently contains just one lot of data.

Thanks, in antcipation for any replies!

-----------------------------------------

This is an XML file called "CableNEWTEST.xml" and is a single portion of the data I wish to import

[code]

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8" standalone="no"?>
    <!DOCTYPE Root SYSTEM "catalogue.dtd">
    <Root>
    <Product>
    <Prod_Stock_Code>StockCode 1</Prod_Stock_Code>
    <Product_Image></Product_Image>
    <Prod_GBP>22222.22</Prod_GBP>
    <Prod_Description>quo dolecatume vendio es molupid qui consedis volorio. Itaturecab ilitatem excea solesero </Prod_Description>
    </Product>
    </Root>

This is the catalogue.dtd file containing the elements and the order they come in.

[code]

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
    <!ELEMENT Root (Product) >
    <!ELEMENT Product ( Prod_Stock_Code, Product_Image, Prod_GBP, Prod_Description ) >
    <!ELEMENT Prod_Stock_Code (#PCDATA) >
    <!ELEMENT Product_Image (#PCDATA) >
    <!ELEMENT Prod_GBP (#PCDATA) >
    <!ELEMENT Prod_Description (#PCDATA) >

This is the Stylesheet I'm using called "Stylesheet NEWTEST.xsl"

[code] Url is specified but I can't post it here!