Thread: XML overview

1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

XML overview

OK I am familiar with the basics of XML. But why is a user definable markup language so valuable. Can someone give me an overview of the key features that make XML so great?

Thanks!
  3. No Profile Picture
    Joonior Meember

I am no expert - in fact I am reading more about XML now to discover how to use it myself. However, the way I have understood XML is that it is somewhat generic data type that can be shared accross many different platforms and instruments. For instance, say you create a database of widgets at your company. Say, I create a website that sells your widgets. Your data and my data are the same XML data. Your database knows how to read, process, and manipulate the data and I program my store to read, process, and manipulate the same data. The data never changes format, therefore it is universal. Now, say someone else creates a way to display your XML data on a web-enabled phone, or a PDA.... see the usefulness? XML can be used on any platform (Unix, Linux, Windows, Mac) and can be read, processed, and manipulated by any XML enabled software.

Now my job as a web developer is to write scripts and applications that can read, process, and write to XML data.

I am sure that this just scratches the surface of XML. I am dedicated to finding out all I can since I can't seem to find a job description out there these days that does not list XML in its requirements.

Hope this helps,
    Zach

Anyone one else want to add or refute?
  5. No Profile Picture
    Do you like PHP like ME?

Exactly as he said it. So you have XML code:

<tshirts>
    <striped>
    blah
    </striped>
    </tshirts>